Poker & Psychology (long)

• GrimsDad
      Preamble: I've been playing online poker for about 10 years now and twice as long live. The following is an article I wrote for another website that might be helpful for beginning -> intermediate players (hence why I'm posting it in this forum) and deals primarily with the psychological aspect of the game. Hopefully it turns out to be a useful read to some of you.

Confirmation Bias & Sample Sizes
      ... or why your pet theories are wrong.

So, I keep hearing variations of the same story over and over again:

• My account is rigged on poker site X because I win more on site Y!
      • Bigstacks always win flips against shortstacks in tournaments!
      • Ax always beats my KK/QQ / I always lose with AA! / Donkeys always make their draws on the turn/river!
      • No way that would have happened live!!

The list could go on, and I'm sure you've heard similar variants yourself if you've been around the online poker world for a while. This is where the related concepts of confirmation bias and sample sizes enter the picture.

First, let's deal with confirmation bias:

Confirmation bias (or myside bias[1]) is a tendency for people to confirm their preconceptions or hypotheses, independently of whether or not they are true. People can reinforce their existing attitudes by selectively collecting new evidence, by interpreting evidence in a biased way or by selectively recalling information from memory.[2] Some psychologists use "confirmation bias" for any of these three cognitive biases, while others restrict the term to selective collection of evidence, using assimilation bias for biased interpretation.[3]
      (Wikipedia quote)