SNG vs CASH GAME

• sw0ldo
      sw0ldo
      Bronze
      Im stuck.. i don't know whether to take up SNGs again or stick with cash games.

I just started playing poker about a 2 months ago and for that time i've been playing SNG's (1 dollar :( lol)

I tried cash games again yesterday and made some good progress.. i think i made 20 dollars on NL 0.05/0.10 in about a 2 hour session.. which was good considering it would take me a lot longer when playing SNG's!

So i just wanna know which one i should stick with and why? (or both!?)

Thanks a lot

Tom!
  • 14 replies
    • Timor83
      Timor83
      Bronze
      Why not play both and see which one you are best in? I know it can be confusing sometimes in terms of learning, but it sure gives you a good idea about which you like most (and earns the most, off course :) ). I find that when I'm tired of one or the other, I switch. Often though, I play both at the same time: 2 cash game tables and 1 or 2 sng's. Off course, that's only possible with the proper bankroll.
      I seriously recommend though to read some books about tourney's if you're willing to take them up as a full time poker career, because I found that the articles here on PS are a little too narrow. Harrington on Hold'em vol. 1-3 are great for that purpose.
    • sw0ldo
      sw0ldo
      Bronze
      i actually bought harrington on holdem and i am mid way through the first one.. the reason i wanted to switch to cash is because climbing up over the $1 buy in is so tedious and i seem to earn a lot more (or have done so far) in cash games
    • Pacer357
      Pacer357
      Bronze