which order should i learn things?

• davehate
      davehate
      Bronze
      hey guys,

im a complete noob but i really love poker and want to become a great player.

i completed the sng quiz and have since played and lost my $50 capital. i added another $20 and burned through that again. apart from brushing up on my BRM (and patience at the tables!) i was wondering if im even ready to be playing for real money. Ive been playing double or nothings, and sng tournaments of various sizes.

so i guess i wanted to know because there is SOOO much info on this site what order should i be working through the articles?

eg at the moment im working through 'the Bubble Factor' and am finding it a little difficult to put into practice. Should i go back and learn Fl and stuff first? i feel like i might be skipping ahead, or on the wrong track. is it too early to consider coaching?

thanks
  • 16 replies
    • AquamanBT
      AquamanBT
      Bronze
      BRM is crucial, you are never supposed to go broke. At the beginning, stick to the starting hands charts. AQ, AJ, KQ, KJ may seem very strong hands, especially when one sees other players win huge pots with them, but most of the time when facing a raiser you are doomed. Other common leak is to be chasing draws, especially with one card. The SNG is a mathematically solved game; what PStrategy has done is to lay it out nicely so that everyone can play as close as possible to a perfect game.

Of course, the odds tell you that a lot of times you're gonna lose. If you could win every game, no one would play. Keeps studying, download the ICM trainer and practice a lot with it. And remember that a good hand to push is not as strong as a hand to call a push. Depending on the situation, it may be fine to push with A7 but not call a push with it.