"Poker robot project"... are you kidding me?

• EmanuelC16
      EmanuelC16
      Bronze
      So a guy contacted me recently with a project. He wants me to make him a poker robot to play sng with the option of choosing limits and what tables NOT to join (if it's shark infested, robot not gogo :) ). Make it look like a human, he said, to click randomly on the table, like a real person would do. In short, he wants a software that automatically makes him money. I said I won't do it out of more reasons, one of which is that I think this would give him an unfair advantage, because he wouldn't spend as much time studying and actually playing the game as a real player has to. I haven't given him the final answer yet, but I don't think there is any doubt what I'm gonna say.

I find this situation a bit strange, because although I'm still a huge newbie, I started to understand how hard it actually is to grind your way up, handle the beats, swings and the feeling of going broke. I think that if someone came to me with this idea, there must be someone else that already put it into practice, at least for <5$ Sngs. Don't poker rooms block this kind of software? It's weird for me, being at the beginning of a computer programmer career and also trying out poker.

I just find this an interesting topic to discuss with players and maybe some programmers/players with more experience than me. I don't want people to start flaming here or start saying they lose because there are huge numbers of bots out there already. Like I said, I believe poker rooms have enough security to block this kind of software.

What do you think of this?
  • 24 replies
    • RMB
      RMB
      Bronze
      There are plenty of projects like that on the net. Most big clients are blocking it and banning the accounts.
    • tcs35
      tcs35
      Bronze