HU SnG blog

• ProlinePoker
      ProlinePoker
      Bronze
      About myself
      My name's João, I'm 28 years-old and currently I work as a part-time teacher. I have a BSc in Biology, I already did scientific research (I'm midway in my Masters degree) but I'm changing gears in my life and now I'm devoting myself to become a high-school teacher. It's just that working in Science implies moving from place to place very often (I already worked in Sweden for 6 months) and I'm trying to settle down in my own country, in Portugal. I live happily with my girlfriend, we share a nice apartment in Oporto and we have a little dog, which is our passion right now...

Poker and me: Part I
      When I was working in Sweden, my colleagues invited me very often for home-made poker games. Considering what I know today, I'm glad I never joined, because I think I would be crushed by them! One of them insisted with me to join along, he was very passionate about the game, he talked to me about his PokerStars account but I never cared much, I was too focused with my work to care about what I thought to be the game where you loose your money, your car, your house and your wife...
      As soon as I returned to my country I met an old friend from college. He had quit his degree to dedicate to poker. He was actually quite happy with that as he told me he was now a high-stakes player and making around $8k a month. That doesn't surprise me as the guy always had a "sixth sense" for card games, he had been a very successful Magic player...
      Somehow the "$8k" thing ringed a bell in me, that altogether with my Swedish friend who also claimed to be making money from the game: well, if they can do it, why shouldn't why give it a shot?

Poker and me: Part II