How realistic is to make $1,000usd / month?

• strosdegoz
      strosdegoz
      Bronze
      Hello Everyone,

This is a thread specially for those making money playing poker.
      I want to ask a question...

How realistic is to make $1,000 / month playing poker, I am basically new at this and I am starting multi tabling at the lowest limit and then going up as my bank roll grows, so this is my question...

What does it take to make $1,000usd monthly?
      Is it possible?

I don't want to make $1,000usd in 1,2 or 4 months I know it takes time and I am willing to train for it, but I want to hear from those making money, what it takes to do it. I know there is a lot of people that don't like to talk about their income but some do, please help me out, just let me know, is it possible? How many tables you play? for how long? and so on...

Thanks in advance!
      strosdegoz
  • 23 replies
    • supeyrio
      supeyrio
      Bronze
      realistically possible. a few examples:

if you can beat nl25 with 3bb/100 hands, u need 130k hands per month.
      and if u can avg 1000 hands per hour, u would need 133hours per month. if you work 20days a month, u need to spend 6.667hrs per day.

if you can crush nl10 with 10bb/100 hands, u need 100k hands per month.
      avg 1000 hands per hr, play 100hrs per month, work 20days a month, play 5hrs a day.

if u can beat nl100 with 3bb/100 hands, u will need 33k hands per month, so on so on so on.

u can work the sums urself. anyhow it is very much feasible.

depending on ur limits and how much u play, u can earn that us$1k just base on rakeback itself.

with reference to the nl10 example with 100k hands, assuming a 27% rakeback and rake is approx $1/100hands, u can get $1/100 * 100k * 27% = $270. thats 27% of your target achieved.

basically (winrate @ NL(?) + rakeback%) * hands

but if u just started out poker, its probably more important to get the foundations right. bankroll is of utmost importance.
    • strosdegoz