[NL2-NL10] FR BSS NL50 (5) 2TP against tilt bet

    • boschman123
      boschman123
      Bronze
      Joined: 19.04.2006 Posts: 1,215
      i dont know if i should have called. the only read i had on the big villain was that he had lost 2 hands in a row and dropped from $250 to his current chipstack. i called because i thought he was tilting. how often im i behind against a set?
      villains preflop raise is almost zero but he is very agressive on turn and river (over 8).
      i know i should have raised flop to something between $12 and $15


      BB ($25.70)
      UTG ($48.75)
      MP1 ($26.76)
      MP2 ($20)
      Hero ($208.88)
      Button ($19.50)
      SB ($99.50)

      Preflop: Hero is CO with , .
      UTG calls $0.50, MP1 calls $0.50, 1 fold, Hero raises to $2, 1 fold, SB calls $1.75, 1 fold, UTG calls $1.50, MP1 calls $1.50.

      Flop: ($8.50) , , (4 players)
      SB checks, UTG checks, MP1 bets $3.8, Hero raises to $9.1, SB calls $9.10, UTG folds, MP1 calls $5.30.

      Turn: ($35.80) (3 players)
      SB bets $82, MP1 calls $15.66 (All-In), Hero calls $82.

      River: ($76.38) (3 players, 1 all-in)
      SB bets 6.40 , Hero calls $6.40.

      Final Pot: $221.86
  • 3 replies
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze
      Joined: 14.04.2006 Posts: 4,786
      Hi boschmann123!

      Yes you are right. You should have raised more on the flop (~$15). On the turn it's an easy all-in. If you are up against a set: so be it. But more often you will see flushdraws and weaker two pairs.

      Good luck at the tables!
      Puschkin81
    • boschman123
      boschman123
      Bronze
      Joined: 19.04.2006 Posts: 1,215
      villain had indeed a busted draw. but my question is, is there a general thumb how often im behind against a set?
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze
      Joined: 14.04.2006 Posts: 4,786
      I don't know such a rule. The only rule I know concerning sets is: If you have a pocket pair you hit a set or better in 11.8% of the cases. So if you assume that your opponent always has a pocket pair if he plays like that, you have the best hand in 88.2% of the cases. But obviously that's way too simple. Anybody else knowing such a rule?

      Good luck at the tables!
      Puschkin81