Size matters after all

• Puschkin81

Besides having fun, most of us try to make a profit out of playing poker. There are two options to achieve this: First, you can win more pots, and secondly, you can try to make the pots you are winning big, while keeping the pots you are loosing rather small.

Shortly after I started playing Poker, I read some books, and I felt like I was ready: I knew the basics as well as some more advanced moves to bluff the opponents out of the game. My motto to maximize winnings was easy: Try to win as many pots as possible. You can either do that by holding a good hand, or by bluffing your opponents out of the pot.

This way of thinking is a tremendous mistake, and it surely cost me a considerable amount of my winnings. By now I know that winning most pots is not what’s significant: It is essential to win the most important pots. In today’s article we will talk about the reasons the size of the pot is so important.

The relevance of the size of the pot

When I watched a No-Limit video a while ago, I noticed that the coach approached the planning of a hand quite differently. As soon as the first three community cards were unveiled, he knew at almost every hand what kind of pot he wanted to play for: Should it become a small, a mediocre, or a very big pot. Only after that he thought about alternative plays and the chosen move. Until then, I had not thought much about the planned size of a pot. I knew that I would play all my chips when having a royal flush, and that I would not risk much when having a highcard without a draw for a good hand. But apparently the size of the pot has a much larger meaning.