Playing against raise monsters

• JamieFinch
      JamieFinch
      Bronze
      I keep on coming up against players whose only strategy seems to be to raise, even when their hands are less than average or just plain crap.

Because of this I keep finding myself folding early even with a fairly good/good hand because I don't want to get involved in a raise-fest unloess I have AA, KK etc.

How do I deal with these kind of players?
  • 7 replies
    • NightFrostaSS
      NightFrostaSS
      Bronze
      reraise
    • JamieFinch
      JamieFinch
      Bronze
      OK. But then would I not find myself taking a big risk without the hand to back it up.
    • NightFrostaSS
      NightFrostaSS
      Bronze
    • JamieFinch
      JamieFinch
      Bronze
      Somehow I suspect that these people will not respond to anything.

However, I accept that I am a complete noob and know little to nothing so I shall give it a go.

Thanks.
    • Schnitzelfisch
      Schnitzelfisch
      Bronze
      Hello JamieFinch and welcome to pokerstrategy!

Please forgive NightFrostaSS, he tends to try to be amusing quite often but means no harm ;) .

The reason why people have not responded to your thread is that it is still a bit early and forums are busier later on in the afternoon.

Regarding your question, you should follow the starting hand charts which can be found here (if you're talking about BSS). Later on when you study and develop your game and perhaps start using a tracking program, you will be able to make better decisions, but the starting hand charts cover the preflop play very well for starters.

Best regards,

Primzi
    • JamieFinch
      JamieFinch
      Bronze
      Thanks for the reply Primzi.

When I mentioned people not responding to anything, I meant the people (raise monsters) on the tables not responding to any tactic (or any stumuli for that matter). I wasn't referring to this forum :D