NL 0.01/0.02 slowplayers

• turnharry
      turnharry
      Bronze
      i'm playing on tables with very low blinds since i'm a beginner and not even silver yet.
      i realize that i lose a lot of hands against people who play their hands really slow
      like betting 1BB pre-flop with AA or betting 3 BB's with a straight on the turn.

in these cases i assume that i can win with top-pair or two-pair and bet/re-raise 10 BB's or so which they just call and then they have the better hand.

what's my best move against getting slowplayed? do i check myself once to see if they raise?
      should i raise higher to see if they still call or... just get over these guys and keep re-raising low bets if i believe i have the better hand?
  • 7 replies
    • jass1960
      jass1960
      Bronze
      make notes about them........

You will find that you will play these guys a lot and if you know that they slowplay monsters you can be aware of it and make a judgement call.

But don't fall into the trap of slowplaying your AA, by going 1BB you invite a lot of people to look at the flop and find that you lose to trips, flushes and straights that wouldn't have stayed in if you had been aggressive from the start.

Your best move against slowplay is having the best hand :f_biggrin:

Read the articles on this site, use the starting hand charts and be aggressive preflop and look at other people's position -

example
      Imagine you are Button with AQ. UTG opens with 1BB - I would presume Ax, low pair or suited but not connected - generally they are trying to limp into the hand so see if they can hit on the flop!

Against your aggression 4BB + 1BB (caller) most fold (not all). Someone slowplaying AA will call. But at least now you will have some info and you can be wary or aggressive depending how the flop affects your hand.
      Let's say that Q72 rainbow flops - top pair, top kicker - a good hand and you have position, you can see what your opponent does.