Deviating from the charts

• JamieFinch
      JamieFinch
      Bronze
      Recently I got my freeroll for partypoker.

To begin with I stuck to the shc's religiously, without success. I simply found myself folding almost constantly and some games I would only get to see the flop if I was playing BB.

Not only was this unsuccessful, but it also became quite boring and so I began deviating from the SNG shc's. Not by much, but I'd be more likely to play that A 10 s or even and A or K with a lower card (suited) if I was in a late position.

The result was that I started winning, or at least getting into the money. What I have noticed is that despite not playing as tight as the charts, I was still playing tighter than most if not all of the other players at the table.

I'm not trying to suggest that I know better, after all I am new to poker. Perhaps somebody could give me some insight as to why this might be though, or maybe I have been reading the charts incorrectly?

Thanks.
  • 9 replies
    • pzhon
      pzhon
      Bronze
      First, I should point out that it takes surprisingly long to determine whether a change in strategy is producing better results. Sometimes the cards will favor you, and you may win more even if you are not playing better.

That said, the charts are not meant to represent optimal play. They are more of a survival strategy, and you should deviate from them by playing more hands in good situations as you gain more experience.