[NL2-NL10] Rush NL10 SH, 88 heavy contested before flop

    • Gugi19
      Joined: 08.01.2010 Posts: 325
      Full Tilt - $0.10 NL RUSH (6 max) - Holdem - 6 players
      Hand converted by PokerTracker 3

      MP: $12.49
      CO: $11.07
      Hero (BTN): $9.70
      SB: $10.10
      BB: $10.00
      UTG: $18.40

      SB posts SB $0.05, BB posts BB $0.10

      Pre Flop: (pot: $0.15) Hero has 8:heart: 8:spade:

      fold, MP calls $0.10, CO raises to $0.50, Hero calls $0.50, fold, BB raises to $2.40, MP calls $2.30, CO calls $1.90, Hero calls $1.90

      Flop: ($9.65, 4 players) 8:club: J:heart: J:diamond:
      BB bets $7.60 and is all-in, MP calls $7.60, fold, Hero calls $7.30 and is all-in

      Turn: ($32.15, 3 players) 7:spade:

      River: ($32.15, 3 players) 4:diamond:

      Obviously I got lucky on the flop, but I would like to know do I have enough set equity before the flop against 3 players to call here? In other words is my preflop call standard or bad play?

      Player stats VP/PR/AFq

      BB 17/11/37
      MP is unknown
      CO 16/13/0
  • 3 replies
    • DaPhunk
      Joined: 01.03.2008 Posts: 2,805
      No, according to the traditional poker strategy standpoint you do not.

      you have roughly 8.5 to 1 chance of hitting a set on the flop and obviously you don't get their money every single time this happens. This is why the call 20 rule was invented.

      Call(20) = If your effective stack is 20 times that of the raise you have to call you can call for implieds preflop with a pocket pair.

      If I knew BB defended his blinds light and likes to Squeeze light I back/raise All-In if CO folds. We often have excellent fold-equity and pretty good equity against his defending hands.
    • Kaitz20
      Joined: 02.02.2007 Posts: 27,343
      Bb 3-bet is quite huge, but since there are already 2 callers and likely if you hit your set, you´ll stack him, since he is shoving close to 100% flops
      So if you want to gamble call pf is fine
    • Gugi19
      Joined: 08.01.2010 Posts: 325
      Thanks for help. I would have folded definitely if two other players had folded, but since they called, I thought if I hit I will stack one or two of them definitely.
      Thanks again.