Smallball poker or not ?

• ParadiseBaby
      ParadiseBaby
      Bronze
      Hello i just started playing poker again now that i have holidays.
      I play 3 dollar sit and gos 6 max .
      in the past i played 6 dollar so my father (who has more poker experience then me ) told me to play 6 dollar because he thought i was ready for it and he said he would help me.
      Thing is me and my father have completely diffrent playing styles , he plays very tight doesnt risk much and i am loose and aggresive , sometimes too aggresive i have too admit.
      i ended up heads up against a player with about 8k chips , the other player had 4 k the blinds were reasonably low 50/100 and my dad told me too play smallball poker. In fact , he kept telling me to call everything.
      Later when the blinds where 100/200 i wanted to raise often but my dad told me too just call or fold and on the flop too only bet out when i have something.
      Me and my dad are pretty much still fighting so i wonder what you guys think :) is smallball poker heads up better ?
      should i not try stealing as i have chip lead???
  • 10 replies
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      it pretty much comes down to what type of opponent you're against, personally i like to play really aggressive heads up unless my opponent is a maniac or something else tells me to change my playing style, its all about being able to adapt.
    • NightFrostaSS
      NightFrostaSS
      Bronze
      Seems like your dad has no idea how to play HU
    • MathhNes
      MathhNes
      Bronze
      Originally posted by ExternalUseOnly
      it pretty much comes down to what type of opponent you're against, personally i like to play really aggressive heads up unless my opponent is a maniac or something else tells me to change my playing style, its all about being able to adapt.
      +1
    • ParadiseBaby
      ParadiseBaby
      Bronze