Variance in Micros?

• SickAtHome
      SickAtHome
      Bronze
      I started playing poker a little more than a month ago, but now, I'm experiencing some variance ($0.1/0.2 FL).
      Here's my graph:

I mean, two days ago I had a profit of +$6.37 making 17.31 BB/ 100 hands. Yesterday was my biggest loss, going -$9.85 for -10.66 BB/ 100 hands. However, today I just went on a roll hitting +$15.12 at 15.51 BB/ 100 hands.

First, I'm away most of August, and I needed quite a few VPPs to clear my $50 starting capital.
      The last week or so, I decided to take advantage of the Micromania increased VPP benefits at Micro FR FL tables. Before I was multitabling 4 at a time, but now I'm at 8+.
      The VPPs came in really quick, so now I'm at 375 VPPs, and need 125 more.
      (On a side note, I bought the $6 bonus JUST in time!)

I review my hands in the forum, and by myself after most of my sessions.
      Yesterday's downswing I had played according to odds and outs, I just didn't hit them. While today, I felt like every AK hit, every 99 stayed an overpair and it just went well overall.

So my question is: Is Fixed Limit supposed to have this much variance? (or is it something else, bad play etc.?)
      Also, any advice on my play, shorthand or no, limits, personal experience, whatever?
  • 8 replies
    • gape0000
      gape0000
      Bronze
      Your sample size is way too small to make any conclusions .

Regarding the swings there was a guy on 2+2 that had a 650BB downswing over a period of around 15k hands while his overall win rate at Party on 10/20$ 6max tables was around 3BB/100 over 500,000 hands which included this huge downswing.
    • Waiboy
      Waiboy
      Bronze
      Study more, look at results less (or learn to understand that in the medium term they don't mean much - positive or negative) IMO.
    • ihufa
      ihufa
      Gold
      maybe if you stopped minraising all the time...
    • madorjan
      madorjan
      Bronze
      Hi!