How does a beginner play these guys??

• Helipacter
      Helipacter
      Bronze
      Hi,

I'm a newb with this, and I'm going about teaching myself how to play the game. Odds/outs; push/folds. It was all going well up until tonight's little saunter to the tables.

I played a couple of SNGs (not at the same time) on FTP. Both games were remarkably similar in that, out of the 9 players at the table, 5 would bet, and bet, and bet, and bet.

I would like to say that they were knocking each other out, whilst the remaining players happily watched and waited for their monster hand. But it didn't - the money went around the big betters and the blinds swallowed the rest of us.

I got one decent hand all night, a King high straight, which was beaten by a guy who raised continuously, and then caught an Ah on the River for a flush - beating me handsomely. Other than that it was an evening spent in the company of low pocket pairs and off-suits before a trip to the rail.

Oh -I digress- my point is, how do you go against players who just raise continuously when you're getting nothing in your hands? I tried semi-bluffing with some draws, but nothing worked out and I then became a target.

Any old pros want to put a donk out of his misery? Or do I just chalk it up as "one of those nights"? :s_confused:

Cheers!
  • 3 replies
    • SvenBe
      SvenBe
      Headadmin
      Headadmin
      Hi Helipacter,

welcome here in our forums!

I use to compare Poker and Chess.
      In Chess a experienced player wins almost every time vs the newbie. The newbies get no fun and stop playing "the sharks".
      In Poker it is a different story. With cards being random you have to trust your strategy on the long run and the fish will also win their amount of games. You can not say you are a better player and that's why you will win 100% of the time. That is where the fun part comes into play for the fishes!