Flush draw vs. Top Pair. Who's supposed to bet flop?

• brunnob
      brunnob
      Bronze
      Hey guys,

I am new to all poker learning, and 've been studying a lot. It is well knows that when you have top pair in a 2-suited board you must bet in order to protect your hand and make your opponents w/ a flush draw pay for their draw.

But in the other hand, if you are holding the flush draw it is also recommended to bet, as it has a +EV.

My question is, it is right for both sides to bet? Isn't one supposed to have a -EV in order to other have a +EV ? Or it does not work that way?

Thanks ! And dorry for my bad grammar :)
  • 3 replies
    • Dawnfall26
      Dawnfall26
      Black
      Hi and no drodlem;) !

I will assume that you are talkin about general situations when player has initiative.
      With TP you bet in order to protect against possible combination of draws to which you dont want to give a freecard and also to extract most value since TP is always a favourite aganst a FD.But you should also know that there are never just FDs on such board.You also bet for value/protection against all possible worse hands that have outs against you.

When you have a FD you bet mostly as a semibluff. Bluff for the fact that there are better hands that might fold(some random higher cards that missed the board) and semi for the fact that you will often improve even when you get called.So you need not that much fold equity(FE) to make such semibluffs profitable.

But what you are asking is an exact situation when one player holds a FD and other one TP(and that is close to never the case in poker) and in this case it clearly wrong for TP to not bet and clearly bad for FD to bet since he has 0 FE and is not a favourite. He should play according to oddsnouts therefore call flop/call turn(if odds are correct!) and fold river when unimproved
    • TerrorBlade
      TerrorBlade
      Black
      Hi, brunnob.