[NL2-NL10] set of 9s beats my 2 pair A6. Did i mess up?

• PapaShibby
      PapaShibby
      Bronze
      This hand frustrated me. I'm a bit new to SSS so i just wanted to check if i played this wisely and just got beat by bad luck or if i should have folded or done something different.

NL .02/.04

Position: BB
      Prelop: A :heart: 6 :heart:

Smooth called to see the flop. 3 people stayed in, no raises.

Flop: A :diamond: 6 :spade: 9 :heart:

I raise 2/3 the pot. 2 fold, 1 smooth calls.

Turn: Q :heart:

I raise 2/3 pot, he reraises, i push all in.

River: J :club:

He pulls out trip 9's, beats my two pair Aces 6s. I was pissed.

So i was thinking after the turn, possible flush. No real danger of him having a flush. Maybe a gut shot straight draw or a pocket pair. K or Q maybe. I figured i was pretty safe with top pair, and a second pair up. First all in push that i've lost doing SSS.

What do you think?
  • 6 replies
    • Kaitz20
      Kaitz20
      Bronze
      You can´t play at NL 5 level SSS. Your hand is played fine.
    • Mystrapoker
      Mystrapoker
      Bronze
      Yeah you messed up, but not because of your cards.

You messed up because you are playing shortstack on a 0.04$ table, where you have to buyin with 40BBs. Hence, when you do that you are effectively being a Big stack. Since you are bronze, and don't have access to the big stack strategy you are out of league.
    • Berliner1982
      Berliner1982
      Bronze
      As a Short Stack you want to go All-In with that hand. But as the other users already said. Do not play on a limit where the minimum Buy-In is 40 Big Blinds.
    • PapaShibby
      PapaShibby
      Bronze