GTD monday 20k

• helemaalnicks
      helemaalnicks
      Bronze
      I started playing s&g's but since a couple of days im sticking to mtt, because it's going extremely well (i guess i'm better at tournament play). I just qualified for a high stakes tournament (20k pricepool. final table gets paid), and I'm wondering if I could get some advice on that. Should I play different in higher stakes? Or are there still lots of morons around who make you money? The way I played mtt untill now is:

Start as a rock, untill the blinds are worth something, then i switch to tight aggresive play, untill the bubble approaches, thats when I start playing (tight) AGGRESSIVE (steal about 2 or 3 blinds per round 10-handed.

Is 20k very different from 300$ or 1500$?

Thanks.
  • 13 replies
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze
      Hi helemaalnicks!

I think your strategy should work also in a 20k tournament because there are still enough people who don't know how to play poker. Although there are more people who know the game than in $300 or $1500 tournaments your strategy should work fine.

Good luck at the tables (and in the tournament) ;)
      Puschkin81
    • chenny8888
      chenny8888
      Bronze
      Puschkin, actually, a question about all of that.

In LARGE tournaments (ie the featured scheduleds), isn't it a good idea to get more involved earlier while the blinds are very low (and just hope for some luck)?

I just find that if you do hit a monster, it will guaranteed pay you off 2x maybe 3x.

Also find that without a nice chipstack going into the bigger blinds you WILL be overwhelmed.

Less so in MTT of course, but when it comes to 200+ players (my experience being freerolls) a looser strategy to start with helps a lot more.

Maybe this isn't the case in these sorts of tournaments though, as the buy-ins are large enough to keep total fish maniacs out of it.
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze