To Shove, or Not To Shove?

• BCShad0w
      BCShad0w
      Bronze
      Whats your opinion on shoving or not shoving with AA/KK/QQ/JJ... I've been seeing more people slow play and beaten, rather than shoving.

I tend to shove AA-JJ and limp with anything lower... Even better if someone raises big before me, I'll happily shove.

I'm still learning about when to shove, when to slow play and I do do both, but I tend to shove more. At micro, plenty of people will call you.

/C
  • 2 replies
    • Styr
      Styr
      Bronze
      Are you talking about standard blind structures, or super/hyper turbo ones?

Shoving aces or kings pre-flop first in is quite a leak in my opinion, unless you know there are some less evolved people acting behind who raise or go all in with any two cards. A standard 3-4 BB raise +1 BB for every limper is usually the best choice of action.

In a super/hyper turbo however, limping AA and QQ is usually a good idea. Anything else is a shove or a fold, unless you know people who raise over any limper, in which case even AQ might be considered as a limping hand, in my opinion. Unless you want something more than a 60/40 flip.
    • albionpro
      albionpro
      Bronze
      Originally posted by BCShad0w
      Whats your opinion on shoving or not shoving with AA/KK/QQ/JJ... I've been seeing more people slow play and beaten, rather than shoving.

I tend to shove AA-JJ and limp with anything lower... Even better if someone raises big before me, I'll happily shove.

I'm still learning about when to shove, when to slow play and I do do both, but I tend to shove more. At micro, plenty of people will call you.

/C
      your post is very general, like Styr said is it standard or turbo? I can only comment on standard because i dont play turbos.

Now depending how deep stacked we are, what point in the SnG we are in and what action has occurred or likely to occur different situations can apply, some examples are;