This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Journey to a SNG Life

• Kalculater
      Kalculater
      Bronze
      BACKGROUND

Sex: Male

Currently I am a student at University. Whilst I study Internation Business and Accounting degrees full-time, I also work part-time in retail. My poker history started when i began playing live free games at our local bar. As a newly 18 year old frequenting the pub i fell into the free poker games as a means of entertainment. After a few months of not playing very well and consuming alot of alcohol I bought Phil Helmuth's poker book, studied it and started applying concepts to the poker table.

Over the next year I moved out of home to reside further down the coast, undertaking my degrees at a different university. I occasionally hit the tables at the free events, won a few (1st prize bottle of spirits - yeow!) and made it to the end of season tournaments. I actuallycame 6th at one for $250. Whilst it wasnt a HUGE cash winning, it was decent and the feeling was unbelievable!

Fastforward to a further year later and I rarely played poker. Throughout this time I had put money onto a Fulltilt account and gradually lost. I did not adhere to any BRM rules and played Cash games, SNGs and MTTs without in-depth knowledge of poker concepts.

Earlier this year I was heading to Bali for a surfing trip/holiday. Scouring my bookcase for holiday reading material i stumbled upon Phil Helmuth's book once again, and threw it into my suitcase. Over the trip I purchased Colin Moshman's SNG Strategy book, and read both books over the course of our three week holiday. In between many bintangs, great food and alotta surfing mind you!