Journey to a SNG Life

• Kalculater

Sex: Male

Currently I am a student at University. Whilst I study Internation Business and Accounting degrees full-time, I also work part-time in retail. My poker history started when i began playing live free games at our local bar. As a newly 18 year old frequenting the pub i fell into the free poker games as a means of entertainment. After a few months of not playing very well and consuming alot of alcohol I bought Phil Helmuth's poker book, studied it and started applying concepts to the poker table.

Over the next year I moved out of home to reside further down the coast, undertaking my degrees at a different university. I occasionally hit the tables at the free events, won a few (1st prize bottle of spirits - yeow!) and made it to the end of season tournaments. I actuallycame 6th at one for $250. Whilst it wasnt a HUGE cash winning, it was decent and the feeling was unbelievable!

Fastforward to a further year later and I rarely played poker. Throughout this time I had put money onto a Fulltilt account and gradually lost. I did not adhere to any BRM rules and played Cash games, SNGs and MTTs without in-depth knowledge of poker concepts.

Earlier this year I was heading to Bali for a surfing trip/holiday. Scouring my bookcase for holiday reading material i stumbled upon Phil Helmuth's book once again, and threw it into my suitcase. Over the trip I purchased Colin Moshman's SNG Strategy book, and read both books over the course of our three week holiday. In between many bintangs, great food and alotta surfing mind you!

When I got back from holidays it was straight back into university. On my off days i started playing cash games $1.20 9-man SNGs with my remaining $50 balance. I ended up going bust due to not adhering to proper concepts, my understanding of late game play and ICM was very limited. I also did not have the confidence pushing hands that should have been pushed, particularly on the bubble and high blind play.