SnG wizard push range

• mTxFaT
      mTxFaT
      Bronze
      Hey folks,

I just started playing SnG tournmanets. After playing 1, I looked at it in SnG Wizard.

In heads-up, with blinds 600/300, I am in SB with 6340, my opponent BB-6560+ his big blind. SnG wizard gives 100% push range. I don't wanna push 36o :(

Also, there is Edge%, it's set to be 0.15%, should that edge% be 0.5% or so to get proper push ranges ?

Thanks
  • 7 replies
    • BOBOsvk
      BOBOsvk
      Bronze
      if you dont want to push dont push
      if you dont want to push according to sng wiz dont use it

simple as that
      simply clever - skoda
    • pzhon
      pzhon
      Bronze
      The default should be to set the edge to 0. Only use a nonzero edge if you have a clear reason to pass up a profitable push according to the ICM, or to make a push which loses according to the ICM.

To get good advice from SNG Wizard, you must adjust the ranges it gives your opponents. The default ranges SNG Wizard gives are often too tight against small blind shoves, and too loose against shoves from outside the blinds. The result is that if you don't adjust the default ranges, SNG Wizard very often says to push ATC from the small blind, but to push very tightly outside the blinds, particularly from the CO and earlier.

Initially, you will not know how to adjust SNG Wizard's ranges. As you get better at putting your opponents on a range, SNG Wizard will become more valuable. Some steps you can take toward learning to put your opponents on good ranges include the following:

1) Ask what the game-theoretically optimal range is. Use a tool like PokerStrategy's ICM Trainer, or the HoldemResources.net Nash equilibrium calculator. It is very valuable to learn how the game-theoretically optimal ranges vary even when you play against real opponents.