i'm gonna kill someone

• matel17
      matel17
      Bronze
      The past 3 days have been hell. I'm on full tilt playing $2 6max sng. I got my $50 about 7 weeks ago and was up $170 playing only 2 to 4 games a day. Now that I've decided to put in more volume I can't win a hand.

I've lost more than 10BI to 2 outers. Is this fucking real? Is it normal? I started playing two tables to get some volume in - and I've been as focused as ever.

My ROI went from 34% to 25% in about 15 or 20 games.. wtf

Now I played a multitable tourney just for a change of atmosphere and my AK lost a preflop all in to the fuckin idiot who can't fold a goddamn hand.

is this normal? all the effort i've put in.. all futile.. ?
  • 24 replies
    • nibbana
      nibbana
      Bronze
      Yea, sounds pretty standard
    • oblitron
      oblitron
      Bronze
      Yes, it's normal, it's the luck factor and you have to accept if you want to play poker without killing someone. Part of it (just part of it) could also be that you may not be paying as much attention to the game and the opponents as you did at first. And I think you're overvaluing AK. For example, AKo vs 85s is only 60/40 in your favour.

It's not all futile though. At this stage, improving your game is more important than winning or losing $20. Make sure you're playing your best and doing what you can to improve and the results will come eventually.

Alternatively, I could make you paranoid by telling you that Full Tilt is rigged but I won.t :P
    • matel17
      matel17
      Bronze
      Yeah thanks. The AKo was against A9o though which is approximately 70 - 25 and 5% tie. Realistically only three 9s were outs, which is what triggered this thread in the first place.

I was so happy with my results so far, then BAM nothing works out.

oh well, shit happens.
    • Destrux
      Destrux
      Bronze
      Maybe this example will lighten you up:

UTG raises 4BB, everyone fold, i call from BU with a pair of 4's, SB and BB folds.