Pimprlas - turbo SNG blog

• Pimprlas
      Pimprlas
      Bronze
      Hi everyone!

My name is Martin, I am 31 from Slovakia and this is my first attempt to start a poker blog so please have patience with the content and my English grammar :)

First - something about how I got into poker...

It all started about 3 years ago in a pub :) We used to go there to drink some beer, play chess and have a good time... Then one day a friend of mine persuaded me to join a pub pokergame. It was 7 or 8 player sngo of NL Holdem with buy-in of about 5$. I was drunk enough to say OK and my friend quickly explained me the rules... Not surprisingly I was out of the first one in like 3 or 4 hands :) so I just drank more beer and watched the others play... The second sngo was no better - I was the first one out again - but improved to last for like 8 hands maybe :) In the 3rd one I was proud not to bust out first, but no money still... I dont know If I was lucky or the others got drunk more than me, but eventually I finished 2nd (and cashed!!! :) ) in the next one and won the last one! Oh - and I still remember check calling my flopped nut straight all the way till all the chips went in in the heads up :) That was when I got that feeling that maybe poker was a game of skill and that maybe I should give it a try...

In a couple of days a registered at AbsolutePoker but because I didnt trust all that online poker stuff i decided not to deposit any money and spent one long summer playing freerolls...

In two months time playing maybe for 3-4 hours a day and some 0.05$ - 0.20$ cashes I had my first bankroll of about 5$ (of course I didnt have any idea what BR management was) and I decided to risk 1/5 of it in a 1$ MTT... Maybe the pokergods felt sorry for a guy like me or something but I managed to win it and suddenly my BR was well over 100$.