The mental side of poker

• stijepo1
      stijepo1
      Bronze
      First I'd like to apologize cause my written english is not so good.

I've been playing poker seriously for two years and I think my A game from the start was pretty good. Ofcourse it got better and better with time, but I think I had the oportunity to be a winning player back then if somebody told me all the things I'll mention in this post.

So let's begin :

1. Motivation
      It's crucial. You always have to be fully motivated, eager to crush the limits you're playing. By that I mean work as hard as you can to make the right move every single hand you're playing. If at any moment at the tables you catch yourself looking at the TV or getting distracted by any other things STOP, take a break and when you feel that rush of wanting to play fully concentrated again only then you may continue !

2. Concentration
      Motivation will help you stay concetrated , but what do I mean when I say concentration ? It means following every move of everyone at the tables and not relaying only on HUD. You'll spot all kind of tells, wheater it's bet sizing or maybe long waiting before making a bet. Lots of people tend not to pay attention after they are dealt some crappy hands. You have to play every hand and try guessing what others might have when you're not involved. In that way you'll pick up a lot of reads and have much easier decisions when you're in the hand against them.

3. Know when to stop
      For example I had a streak where I won 21 HU sng in a row. I was hungry but didnt want to stop because I thought I was in the zone :) My stomach then started to distract me and sudenly I started not to play my A game. Lost 5 in a row before I got up and went to eat.
      Conclusion : Whenever you catch yourself with something else on your mind get up and leave. It's crucial to do this !