Real downswing or bad play?

• darkpenance0
      darkpenance0
      Bronze
      Hi, I'm new to this and sorry if this is not in the right board.

I have been building a bankroll for the past 6 weeks steadily on 2 poker sites, Full Tilt and PKR. I bought in for $25 on PKR and on Full Tilt I used the $50 bonus from here. Yesterday I had $135 on PKR and $219 on Full Tilt but today has been a shambles I have lost $57, my biggest ever loss in a single day. I am not sure whether this is due to bad luck or bad judgement.

$24 loss on PKR

HU cash 0.5/0.10

It started off well, I bought in for $6 and cleared a guy out of his small stack of $2.15, I hit a full house A,8 on a flop of 8,A,2 and an 8 on the turn. The guy had an Ace and pushed as I had slow played my 2 pair from the start.

Then another guy came in to take his place, this started off well. After 3 hands I had taken his $10 buy in to just $4 by hitting a backdoor flush King high, he had 2 pair but he allowed me a free card on the turn. Soon I had A,K and he raised me so I rerarised and he pushed, I called and he showed down K,Q clubs, he hit a Queen on the flop and he beat me.

After that things really went tits up.

I could not hit anything on the flop to save my life, I had a read on him that he called pretty much any 3 bet pre flop but would fold to a 3/4 pot bet on the flop if he missed, but it took me a $2 loss to finally get that nailed.

Then came the killer hand, I had J,9 hearts on sb, I 3 bet it and he called, flop came down x9x so I top pair. He checked and I bet 3/4 pot and he called. Turn came and 9 was still top pair, he bet out half the pot which i thought was strange, the turn card was a blank, so I raised him 3/4 pot and he thought about it and called. The river came out Ace, he bet just 0.10 and after thinking about it I called. He showed down Q,9 off and took the pot with a better 9. Was this bad play on my part or was i unlucky?