SSS question

• thebaptist333
      thebaptist333
      Bronze
      Hi, my name is Simon and I'm relatively new to this forum. I've been playing poker for about 2 years now and have had some mixed success. Recently I've decided to get back to basics and I'm playing a very strict SSS on PS. I started with a roll of $150 and I've played about 5000 hands so far on NL10 and I'm down to about $120 (I've cleared a $10 bonus in that time so I'm actually down $40).

I've recorded some of my sessions and analysed them on poker tracker but I can't seem to find too many mistakes in my play. I'm sticking to the SHC religiously and my post-flop play is basically c-bet against 1 opponent, fold to bet when I miss and push to a re-raise when I hit.

AK seems to be the hand where I loose the most and here's my question. The SHC says to push when a bet is made AFTER you and you have AA, KK, or AK. The way I understand it, a bet after you is a re-raise because you shouldn't enter the pot without raising. A re-raise in this situation usually means he's holding a PP (AA, KK, or QQ in most cases). At best it's a split pot or a race; most of the time I seem to be way behind to AA or KK. The opponent is rarely holding a hand like AQ, AJ or KQ. Even 22 is almost 50/50.

Can someone please explain to me how playing AK in this situation is plus ev.

Thank you.
  • 4 replies
    • SamThomas
      SamThomas
      Bronze
      I'd also like an explanation for this because it confused me when I read the pdf.
      The article says to push after a re-raise with TT and above. It seems like we would always be behind following a re-raise preflop.
      Thankyou.
    • thebaptist333
      thebaptist333
      Bronze
      is there a answer to this please? I've since moved to BSS again and I'm doing much better, but I'd still like an answer if possible.
    • lozz08
      lozz08
      Bronze