Changes Made to WSOP Player of the Year

The WSOP has changed its criteria to determine Player of the Year, favouring a weighted system where points will be awarded depending on tournament buy-in and number of entrants.

Frank Kassela
Frank Kassela, last year's
WSOP Player of the Year

As mentioned in our previous news, several changes have been made to the 2011 WSOP. The calculations used to determine WSOP Player of the Year (POY) have been revamped because of debate over last year's winner, Frank Kassela.

Although Kassela secured two bracelet wins, a lot of the plaudits went to Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi because of his victory in the prestigious $50,000 Poker Player's Championship and deep Main Event run.

This year, points will be multiplied based on buy-in and field size:
  • For buy-ins between $2,500-$4,999, points will be multiplied by 1.25
  • For buy-ins between $5,000-$9,999, points will be multiplied by 1.5
  • For buy-ins between $10,000-$24,999, points will be multiplied by 2.25
  • For buy-ins between $25,000-$49,999, points will be multiplied by 2.5
  • For buy-ins above $50,000, points will be multiplied by 3.
There will be similar multipliers depending on the number of entrants. Points will be multiplied by 2 for fields of 1,101-1,300 players, and by 3 for fields of 5,001+ players. The multiplier will increase by 0.1 for rising field numbers in between.

Other changes include the incorporation of 7 WSOPE events, along with the 55 WSOP events, to the POY points race. This means fans will have to wait until the end of October before the Player of the Year is announced.

The WSOP Main Event will adopt its own points system, with 500 POY points gifted to the winner and 350 to the runner up. At least half of the money finishers in the Main Event are guaranteed 25 POY points.

New POY Scheme Inspired by Bluff Magazine

Jeff Lisandro
WSOP 2009 Player of the Year,
Jeffery Lisandro
The WSOP drew inspiration from Bluff Magazine for the new POY scheme. WSOP Vice President Ty Stewart stressed the need for some "bypass surgery to reflect the buy-in levels and field sizes of WSOP events."

Bluff's Chief Editor Lance Bradley confirmed "we altered the formula only slightly from our own to reflect the buy-in levels and field sizes of WSOP events. The new system increases the credibility of the already prestigious WSOP Player of the Year award."

Lehavot in Pole Position

Amir Lehavot is currently leading the race for 2011 WSOP Player of the Year after he clinched victory in the $10,000 Pot Limit Hold'em Championship. He received $573,456 and 315 POY points for his efforts.

Other notable names in contention include Jake Cody (300 points), John Juanda (270 points), Yevgeniy Timoshenko (210 points) and Phil Hellmuth (189 points). You can keep tabs on the WSOP POY standings here.

Famous winners of the WSOP Player of the Year award include Daniel Negreanu in 2004 and Erick Lindgren in 2008. Jeffrey Lisandro (pictured right) scooped the award in 2009 after his remarkable 3 bracelet victories.

Share this page

Comments (3)

newest first
  • neznanec21


    So a guy gets almost the same PoY points for besting 248 players, as the guy that's runner up in the main event, besting all but one out of 6k+ players?
    Bad calculations imo.
  • chenny8888


    @1: no other way to do it really IMO. otherwise it wouldn't be called player of the year, it'd just be called "another prize for WSOP ME winner"
  • neil0707


    No probs with the new structure, however Mizachi has far more poker playing BUDS than Frank did last year...Two bracelets was one hell of an effort in any size of field in the WSOP...tough to call really.
    Whos going to get it this year.............hope it IAM FROM