Chris Ferguson leads the WSOP Player of the Year race

It's not over yet, but somebody has to overtake him at the WSOPE where he has just won a free Main Event buy-in.

Chris Ferguson playing poker
Chris Ferguson

The WSOP Player of the Year ranking system was already under scrutiny but it will be under even more so, now that one of the most controversial players in poker leaves Vegas as the leader. 

To give Chris Ferguson his credit, he did smash the all time WSOP cashes in a single year record to get there. He cashed 17 times this year, when the previous record was 13.

However, he only made two final tables this year and the rest were min cashes. This is in the same year that David Bach won two bracelets

Ferguson ended the Vegas series on 898.46 points, with Ryan Hughes trailing him on 876.35 and the aforementioned Bach is all the way in 62nd with 454.87. Nobody left in the Main Event can overtake him, but there are plenty of players who could pip him to the post at the WSOPE in Rozvadov this October

The Player of the Year awards a €10,000 WSOPE Main entry to the player at the top of the rankings on July 22, and a 2018 $10,000 WSOP Main Event entry to the overall winner after the 11 events of the WSOPE. However, it is the prestige of being the most consistent player that is most coveted with this accolade. 

Does this change your view on the Player of the Series race? Should the most cashes count so strongly? Share your views in the comments:

Share this page

Comments (2)

newest first