Hall of Fame nominees announced including Phil Ivey

This year’s finalists have been made public and with Phil Ivey now eligible, will he join the Poker Hall of Fame ten days from now?

Hall of Fame

Following a public nomination process, the approved final list of ten players put forward by the PHOF Governing Council for this year’s induction ceremony to the Poker Hall of Fame has been released.

Now, it’s over to the panel made up of the current 27 Hall of Fame members plus 18 blue ribbon media members to decide who gets selected on the 21st of July in Las Vegas.

As always, the list of ten is strong, but with Phil Ivey being nominated, he must surely be considered a hot favourite to finally join this exclusive club.

Phil Ivey

The nominees are:

  • David Chiu
  • Mori Eskandani
  • Ted Forrest
  • Thor Hansen
  • Phil Ivey
  • Mike Matusow
  • Max Pescatori
  • Matt Savage
  • Huckleberry Seed
  • David “Devilfish” Ulliott

Last year, both Jennifer Harman and John Juanda were the chosen two and, should two be chosen again this year, it is fair to say that Phil Ivey will almost certainly be one of them.

Phil Ivey, who didn’t turn up to play the Main Event after all, has 31 WSOP final tables that have provided a total of ten bracelets and, crucially, is now over 40, the minimum age for membership following the passing of the Chip Reese rule. He has also banked just shy of $24m in live career earnings which should make him a near certainty.

If Ivey gets elected, who do you think the other new hall of famer will be? Let us know in the comments:

Share this page