Jason Mercier wins SHRPO High Roller for $652K

Elsewhere in Florida, Dan Colman managed to make a second successive final table in the $5K buy-in main event.

Jason Mercier Seminole Hard Rock
Mercier ships his fourth live six-figure score of 2015 at the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open in Florida

The year 2015 may have started a little slow for Jason Mercier, but since his impressive Player of the Series performance at the Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) back in May, everything's coming up roses.

Barely a month later at the World Series of Poker (WSOP) and Mercier was celebrating his third career bracelet having won the festival's $5K buy-in 6-max No Limit Hold'em event for over $630,000, then just ten days after that he finished runner-up in the $10K Pot Limit Omaha for just shy of $575,000.

Now in August with the summer's live action winding down, he's struck gold again, this time in his native Florida at the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open's (SHRPO) $25K buy-in High Roller event.

Mercier overcame a tough field of 83 players, and then an extremely tough final table featuring the likes of David Peters, Phil Laak, and David 'Doc' Sands to take the title and a further $652,800 in cash.

The Team PokerStars pro now has an incredible $15,879,774 in total recorded live earnings, and moves above recent Aria $500K Super High Roller winner Brian Rast into 11th place in poker's esteemed all-time money list.

SHRPO $25K High Roller final table payouts
1 Jason Mercier $652,800
2 Ian O'Hara $391,700
3 Sean Winter $245,500
4 Ankush Mandavia $186,200
5 Barry Hutter $141,900
6 David Sands $116,600
7 Ashwin Sarin $93,400
8 Phil Laak $74,400
9 David Peters $57,500

Colman falls shy of main event double

Colman SHRPO 2014
Colman "celebrating" his win this time last year in Florida

Elsewhere at the SHRPO, Dan Colman has been among the headlines for making back-to-back final tables in the festival's $5K buy-in main event.

Colman, who actually won the title last year for $1.4 million when the event had a gigantic $2.5 million overlay, started the 2015 finale third in chips yesterday with a shot at another - potentially unwanted - slice of poker history.

However, much to his relief, he wouldn't be posing for another awkwardly solemn, funeral parlour style champion's photograph this time round, as he "only" managed a third place finish for $310,000.

The eventual winner was Omar Zazay, who pocketed a cool $1 million for his efforts. Zazay's best live score prior was a comparably meagre $83,000.

SHRPO $5K Main Event final table payouts
1 Omar Zazay $1,000,000
2 Brian Phillis $575,000
3 Dan Colman $310,000
4 Larry Mocchia $220,000
5 Randy Pfeifer $180,000
6 Joseph Couden $150,000
7 Vladislav Mezheritsky $125,000
8 Paul Volpe $100,000
9 Rick Alvarado $75,000

Share this with your friends!

Josh Logan

Josh Logan

is a poker enthusiast, journalist and copywriter from London, England.

Share this page

Comments (3)

newest first


    Don't get why you rip on Colman for not being a poster boy winner. Everyone is different. Embrace it!
  • JoshLogan


    It's all in fun mate. Have no grudge against the guy, just think it's hilarious he intentionally tries to look depressed every time he wins something.
  • MJPerry


    In his defence, what's $1.4m when you've won One Drop?

    It'd be like me winning a tenner.