Essay: Multi Tabling

• Puschkin81
      Multi Tabling: What to look out for as a beginner

written by kriegskeks

Once you have learnt playing poker on the microlimits, you will soon get bored playing only a few tables at a time. As bad players can often cope with at least four tables at a time, I will write about multi tabling this week and how you can play more hands as a beginner without losing the overview.

I remember when I started playing poker on PartyPoker. At first I played SSS with only two tables at a time. This became very boring for me after a short while and because the theory is pretty simple, I started playing six tables at a time without any problems until I reached NL50. By playing the SSS you will gain a good basic understanding for No-Limit Hold’Em, however, quite often the hands are only played until the flop whereas the tough decisions usually arise on the turn or the river.

You should start with two to three tables when you start playing NL big stack strategy. As a beginner you will be playing Full Ring and therefore should have enough time to be able to think about every hand even though you have the experience from playing SSS. Depending on how active the player is, some beginners will get bored after a short time playing three tables only. I advise you not to start playing on four or more tables straight away. Quite often you will catch a good start and think that you are the greatest because your opponents on the microlimits are still very weak. You would probably want to increase the number of hands you play in an hour to climb up the limits as fast as possible.