Poker Mirrors My Life

• martiangoblin
      martiangoblin
      Bronze
      A quick introduction...
      My name is Alex, im 26 and i come from Copenhagen, although ive lived in the US for most of my life.

I started Playing poker in 2004. The poker boom was here and i, like everyone else, jumped on the bandwagon. I loved the game. It seemed like the perfect combination of strategy and luck, intelligence and gamble. Poker encapsulated an age-old idiom for me: Its not the hand that you're dealt, its how you play your cards.

Playing live with my friends became a regular weekend event, and soon a friend of mine introduced me to online poker, via pokerstars. I deposited $25 and started playing a mix of sngs, mtts and microstakes cash games, really just to get a feel for the dynamics of online poker. A few months of recreational playing lead to mixed results, yet i did wind up cashing out $100 before busting my roll.

I then took a small break from poker, but after moving back to Denmark a year or so ago, i decided to give online poker a try again.

I can first and foremost thank PokerStrategy.com for enabling me to do this.

The 50$ free starting capital was soon on my account at Everest, and in one month (december of 2011) I had grinded it into about $400 playing mainly NL2-10.

In accordance with the new danish gaming laws, i then withdrew my roll, and redeposited some of it on Unibet, and the rest on the iPoker network, and started hitting the tables again hard in the beginning of march of this year.

And since then... its been one long ride downhill.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/844/69637770.jpg/
      http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/846/marts.jpg/

I dont want to call it a cooler.... i will freely admit that my play has been sub-optimal. But what frustrates me most is perhaps whats happening outside of the tables.