SSS project by a SSS-hater

• helemaalnicks
      helemaalnicks
      Bronze
      Hello,

I am a S&G coach for pokerstrategy.com. I believe my employer offers some real winning strategies on different types of games. I have tried many of these games. I played bss FR, bss SH, and obviously, I played A LOT of S&G's. However, 1 game i never tried is the well known Short Stack Strategy. I notice that there are a lot of threads around here, saying that sss doesn't work, or doesn't work @ certain limit. It would be a losing strategy, and the SHC would be wrong.

Since the SHC is made for microlimits (NL10-NL25), and I am a total sss-newb, I have started this campaign on the lowest limits. If this thread is popular, I will keep playing sss, and move up in limits. Because I don't think there is any real difference between NL10 and NL25, I will start on the latter limit. Once I made 25 stacks (250 PTBB's) on every limit, I will move up to the next one.

I started playing 6 tables at a time yesterday (I advice beginners to start with at most 4) and I quickly expanded to 13. I needed to memorize the SHC first, and then I played as many tables as can fit my screens. I played at stars, and here are the stats of my first session:

Woohoo, major upswing!

Despite the fact that I play at stars, which is supposed to be one of the toughest platforms out there, the skill level of my opponents is absolutely horrible. I don't think 9PTBB/100 hands is maintainable, but 1PTBB/100 is already enough to make solid profits. Only 15 more stacks to go and I'll move up to NL50.

My playing style: SHC, postflop strategy as suggested by pokerstrategy.com, except in spots where a different move is obviously better. For example, with jacks, on a QQ4 board, against 2 opponents, I instapush. With 99 from sb first in, and on a reraise from bb, Im not folding it. Etc.