Ramble's Ramblings

• Ramble
      Ramble
      Bronze
      Oct 2013: $1.50 9-max Turbo SnG
      UPDATED Feb 2014: $3.50 9-max Knock-outs
      UPDATED Aug 2014: $7.00 9-max Knock-outs

My Poker History (I'll try to keep it brief):

I remember hearing about some ‘old’ guys (i.e in their late 20’s) playing poker and having a few beers and thinking to myself, that sounds fun, maybe I’ll get my friends together to do that...

Ten years later, when I finally decided to do it (yeah I’m a bit slow), I learned the basics of a poker game and started a monthly home game. We played mostly limit draw and stud cash games with a 25 cent maximum bet. Eventually, we got into holding more NL-HE tournaments, but it's a nice break to get back to a variety of cash games.

I heard about Chris Ferguson’s $1 to $10,000 Challenge, so I started playing online freerolls and won about $3. I worked this up to about $120 over the course of a year before I realized that I was the best player ever and no one else stood a chance against me ... a week later I went broke.

I decided to give it another go and stumbled upon Pokerstrategy.com and their free $50 offer, I signed up and started playing at Full Tilt, almost exclusively SnG’s (9-man mostly, but some 27 and 45 too).

2010/2011
      I slowly built my bankroll up and was grinding the $5 tables when I decided I needed to take a break for a few months. I started back up in March 2011, and just a couple of weeks later Black Friday hit. I was so soured that I stopped playing online completely (with a couple of brief tries at some smaller sites, thanks to PS offers, but the software and traffic didn’t compare so I gave up pretty quick).

After Full Tilt started up again and I had access to my old bankroll, I decided to give it another go, but the traffic was low for the $5 games at the times I like to play, so I stopped again.