Climbing the Zoom ladder

• Catonthemat
      Catonthemat
      Bronze
      Introduction & background

I have been playing poker on and off for the last 4 months or so, with a couple of failed attempts at blogging and improving. (1st & 2nd) I always start out positive and motivated, then I lose more flips then I can tolerate and end up spewing. In total probably down about $500 which isn't ideal but isn't the end of the world.

So what is different this time? Hopefully my motivation and discipline. However just in case that isn't enough I have limited my account on PokerStars to only let me on tables NL2 for now. This way it should be pretty hard to punt my whole bank roll if I get too tiled, and hopefully I just take a break instead.

Bankroll Challenge

I have decided to opt in to the get rich or die trying thread, just in case I do make it then I can get a free upgrade :f_biggrin:

Starting date: 19/11/2016
      Starting BR: $30
      Target: $1000

Goals & plans

I have now tried a month of cash and a month of SNG in my previous blogs. With this experience I have decided to go for cash games (Zoom NL2). This mainly comes down to the limited time I can put into poker. With SNG I found that I could spend a hour miss the money and feel like it has all been for nothing. I just didn't have the time to put the volume in. With cash games I can just dip in and out when I want. I might still try the odd MTT on a Sunday as I am never going to have a life changing win in cash games, and you never know I could get lucky in the MTT. :f_drink:

I also find cash games more fun to continuously play. With SNG/MTT I found that it was a whole load of folding, followed by a quick shove fest. As this isn't meant to be an income stream and more a hobby I would prefer to play what I enjoy regardless of the return on investment.