HM manger Ok but elephant says 127.0.0.1

• w2bet
      w2bet
      Basic
      My 1st post at pokerstrategy.com , so let me start by saying Hi.

Hi
      Hello
      Howdy!

This site is fantastic. I have been playing for a couple of years, mostly tournaments and the odd bit of hold'em table games, without ever really being able to talk to other people about my game, or just the game. So it fantastic to find a site where I can learn and hopefully improve my game. The Articles on strategy and watching some pro's playing multi tables, is an education in its self. I cant wait till i call see the bronze, silver, and gold , diamond (?) level films.

I signed up about 10 days ago or so, and have now spent well over 15 hours installing, de-installing, deleting, and going a little crazy trying to get poker elephant to work on my PC (vista).

The shear amount of threads and people who have been in a similar situation posting kept me at it, because I know in the end I will get there.

My perserverance, did eventually get, PostgreSQL to install correctly, (anyone still having trouble here suggest you go here http://www.holdemmanager.net/setup/postgresSql.html as the forum has extensive help for this) unfortunately I just cannot get elephant to work. I have managed to install Hold'em Manager which does now work, it now has no problem accessing the database, ie there is no "Failed to establish a connection to 127.0.0.1 error when running Hold'em.

Originally I could not get Hold'em to work because of this error, but did finally get there. Unfortunatly Elephant is still coming up with the Failed to establish a connecton to 127.0.0.1 Error.

As far as I know, if Hold'em can access the Database then elephant should be able to also (ie create its own database in postgreSQL.

In short, is there anyone tech'y who might know why this is ? or know a work-around ?