Lack of discipline is the key to failure!

• Wurble
      Wurble
      Silver
      Hi all,

Decided I would create a blog, mostly to keep myself disciplined as I know I will have to answer to all on here if I screw up!

My name is Liam, I live just outside of Manchester in the UK. I'm 25 and work in IT (boooooring). I started playing poker online in February this year, I had never played before that but decided to give it a go as it is similar to trading the foreign exchange markets which is something I have a little experience in.

My foray in to the world of online poker started with me coming across another strategy site where the cash game strat is similar to the BSS here.. I played with a little success but always 3 steps forward and 5 steps back.

My problem? Lack of discipline and patience. I never followed BRM, I was too impatient to wait for proper starting hands, I got hot headed and tilted often. Oh dear. It's worth mentioning that these are the very reasons I fell flat on my face trading currencies :( I blew the starting capital from this fantastic site within a couple of weeks due to the same inability to stick to the rules.

So here I am, a week or two ago I had $0.40 in my pokerstars account and I don't remember how but somehow got that to $6 or so which allowed me to release a $10 bonus I had waiting. I added another $10 of my own money and that gave me another $1 bonus once I had made 1fpp.

I had $27 or so and decided this was it, I was going to stay disciplined and play properly... Ooops, screwed up again. Up until 100 games ago i had broken BRM a few times, some success, some losses but ultimately ended where i started so could have been worse I guess!

Now I am playing the $1.10 DONS and after 100 games my account is sat nicely at $54.45.