The best way to play roulette?

• Dippy19
      Dippy19
      Bronze
      I got my 50$ from the top10 promo on Party and I first played some 1/2 and 3/6 FL, to try and get scratch tickets... oh, yeah, I wanted to donk around a bit, so there's no confusion :) Anyways, made it to 160$ and then before cashing out I felt like playing a game of roulette before I go. So I took 50$ and looked at the board and placed the bets in a way that looked kind of cool:

And in that one spin, the 22 hit and I got 180$ for my 50$, that's 130$ profit. Then I just withdrew the cash and left. Now while I was out and walking around I started to think that my bets ware pretty well placed. I don't know much about roulette, but I assume that if you hit an exact number and have 5$ on it, you always get 180$, and if you hit a color you get 2x the invested. So I calculated a bit and I found out that the way I placed the bets(shown above) I get 49.32$ for every 50$ invested.

I'm not that good with probabilities, so I would like to know if I calculated it right and thus actually managed to place my bets in the least(or at least one of the least) -EV ways? Pretty good for first go :)
  • 44 replies
    • Meiffert
      Meiffert
      Bronze
      For colour, you win $50 18x out of 37. For each number you win 180 1x out of 37.
      Therefore you get 50*18/37 + 5*180/37 = $48.65 on average.

(And you always get $48.65 EV no matter how you bet on roulette. Every bet has 36/37 = 0.973 EV.)
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      Dip,

All bets there are -EV long term, it is all about the Variance np{1-p}

But I think everything as betting in the numbers (single 11 or split 10/11) has the same EV

I think this goes as well for the Red/Black, dozens and stuff

EV (1st dozen) = .324*$30 - (1-.324)*20$
      EV = -$3.8

EV (Single Number) = (1/37)*35*10$ - (36/37)*$10{??}
      EV = +$0.8~ but the VARIANCE IS SICK

I will look it up in a Math Exam since to refresh my mind ^^
    • shortfuse