When it's time to realise that poker is not for you, and move on?

• wickdclown
      wickdclown
      Bronze
      Sorry, if its the wrong place for this post.

I started playing poker because:
      a.) I live in a place where average wage people earn a month is ~650$. It seems possible to earn this amount each month playing poker, and from lots of brag posts it seems easy. I am college graduate, but I can't find a decent job (if you know of vacancy in IT department lemme know ;) ). So poker looked like a solution for some financial problems.
      a.) I find poker interesting.

So Ive been playing 6handed nl10 cash games for 4 months. That is about 300000 hands. Results? About break even. All the profit it made (~500$) came from rake-back/bonuses/promotions. Talk about beating the limit. For the past week Ive been loosing 2-3 bi each day. I'm starting to really hate poker and French who call my pocket aces with j9 and win with straight :tongue:

I have read all ps articles up to platinum, watched all SH videos. I try to play TAG (my stats ~ 18/14/2). So I'm not gambling. I guess I just suck in poker.

After this shitty week I'm really thinking about quitting the poker and looking for something else (or just doing nothing).

Or maybe I should just take a break? How many hands it would take you to realize that you should just quit?

p.s. if someone good at poker would like to donate a private coaching I'm up for it :f_p:

[sorry for grammar mistakes, English is not my first language]
  • 39 replies
    • Dragar
      Dragar
      Bronze
      Ok...

First of your breaking even with rake. Thats pretty good by itself and your already better then most players now.

I don't think you have to quit, just take a break and not do anything poker related for a while.

Then come back for a fresh start.

And yes do look for something else too. Poker should not be your main source of income at this stage, thats just too much stress and what not.
    • vladd20
      vladd20