Implied Odds Question...

• Helipacter
      Helipacter
      Bronze
      Hi,

This one goes out to the FL math-geeks. I'm just breaking into the maths side of Poker (I'm still a newbie in many respects). I've been reading Sklansky's "Theory of Poker" book, and I'm going over the odds and outs sections.

In the section on implied odds he states how to calculate them during NL sessions - my question is, because of the betting restrictions of FL, does this make the calculating of implied odds less useful for a FL player?

Cheers
  • 7 replies
    • Foxxxen
      Foxxxen
      Bronze
      Calculating implied odds is very useful in FL. As we are dealing with small margins, implied odds (as well as reversed implieds) can often tip the scale, both in preflop and postflop decisions. A simple example for implied odds on the preflop is when we overlimp a suited connector, or decide to coldcall because there is a fish in the blinds who is likely to come along.

Oftentimes, implieds are not too difficult to calculate postflop and it is possible to make good estimates based on the opponent tendencies, board texture etc.
    • Helipacter
      Helipacter
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Foxxxen
      Calculating implied odds is very useful in FL. As we are dealing with small margins, implied odds (as well as reversed implieds) can often tip the scale, both in preflop and postflop decisions. A simple example for implied odds on the preflop is when we overlimp a suited connector, or decide to coldcall because there is a fish in the blinds who is likely to come along.

Oftentimes, implieds are not too difficult to calculate postflop and it is possible to make good estimates based on the opponent tendencies, board texture etc.
      Cheers for the advice there Foxxxen. The maths stuff is something I'm working my way slowly into - though it is frying my mind slightly. I'm working on micro-limits FL in order to get better at it.