How Much Have You Changed From Playing Poker?

• maythany
      maythany
      Bronze
      Hello,

I can say for sure that poker has changed me as a person ever since I started playing for real money. Poker requires dedication, patience, the ability to digest information affectively and the ability to not tilt during rough times.

Before I started playing poker and losing a large amount of money in the process, I was unable to dedicate myself to anything, I was impatient and I did not understand what 3-betting meant and the strength behind it. I would tilt every time I lose and that played a huge part in my losses. In addition, poker has become a motivation for me now. I want to become better at it because I really enjoy playing poker and making the money that I lost during my earlier days will be a goal I am shooting to obtain (not chasing).

Now, I am taking myself more seriously and I am becoming more patient, digesting information more affectively and not tilting all the time. I believe in the future, poker will drastically change me. It will make me more confident in myself and improve my critical thinking.

How much have you changed from first playing poker?
  • 44 replies
    • Lazza61
      Lazza61
      Headadmin
      Headadmin
      Agreed

I'm 50 years old and for most of my life I have been impatient and easily prone to losing my temper.
      I've been playing online poker now for about 4 years and since I started taking it seriously about 12 months ago, it has literally changed my personality.
      I am now a much more patient and even tempered person.
      Who would have thought Pokerstrategys' articles and videos would have had such a profound effect on my life outside poker.
      Thank You PS and indeed the whole PS community.
    • Deadbillis
      Deadbillis
      Bronze