MTT's vs Cash Games

• Jeero
      Jeero
      Bronze
      I'm a long time cash game player (long as in 8 months), and I have very little tournament experience. However, I enjoy tournaments a lot! I find them much more fun than the monotonous grind of cash games. But it seems like most people who make money off of poker make money from cash games. I can see that cash games might be more stable, but I can't ignore the prospect of having a massive win in an MTT. I also noticed that in general, in every tournament that I've played, the players are much much weaker than the players I play against in cash games.

Can someone give me some insight on tournaments? Which ones to stay away from, what tournaments to look for, etc. I read some of the articles on sng strategy so I know about hands, BR requirements, etc. Here is an example of what I mean; a while ago I played in a freeroll tournament and got 6th for something like $9,... the tournament had like 3000 people in it. I would say that that is totally not worth it! Also, I have never won an MTT. How often do people win these things? Do people make a living off of grinding small stakes MTT's?
  • 19 replies
    • CheeKeh
      CheeKeh
      Bronze
      just think, the freerolls are good for good players who went on a massive downhill journey into brokeness :p

and yeah it is possible to make a living from MTT´s and SNG´s :D

look at people like phil ivey and that who enter the main event every year.. they make the money most years and make more money than a lot of people do all year for working a dead hard 9-5 job :p
    • Justin37
      Justin37
      Bronze
      I thou Phil Ivey won more money from cash game than Tournament?
    • Bojan1983
      Bojan1983
      Bronze
      That is because cash games are at much higher level then tournaments... he can allways find 500/1000$ cash game, which is usually played with 100k$, while most expensive tournament is arround 10k...
    • SPeedFANat1c
      SPeedFANat1c