Timors road to poker stardom ;)

• Timor83
      Timor83
      Bronze
      Hello there! I'm a 24 year old student from Belgium. Don't ask why I'm 24 and still studying, I'm just too lazy to take up a job I guess ;) I just wanted to give anyone who's interested (probably the whole forum :D ) some recent updates about how my poker career is evolving.
      I had played a lot in real life, though not full ring and mostly I played badly. I lost. So, I decided to buy Harrington on Hold'em, which at the time I didn't realize it was tournament-oriented, but nevertheless, it improved my real life game to a slightly profitable one.
      I ran into Pokerstrategy through an ad, and it sounded interesting. So, I started with the 50$ in june. At first I was a steady winner. My bankroll skyrocketed to about 200$ in less than 3 weeks. Then, I started losing it all again, back to 50$ and even less. I think I became too optimistic, made bad calls, ran into some bad luck and thus my confidence took a hit, which made me play even worse because I was tilting often enough.
      I decided to switch to sng's for a while to blow off steam. After all, I didn't want those Harrington books to be a complete waste of money. Surprisingly, my bankroll went up again fast: high enough to both move up a level of sng's to 11$, and to take up cash games back as well. I made a slight profit of about 1.5 BB/ 100 hands on 0.05/0.1, so I decided to move up a level. I beat the 0.1/0.25 NL at an amazing 9.5BB/100 hands, which I still can't believe myself (sample size: 11000 hands). I think the main reason why my play improved is because I noticed the importance of position and stealing the blinds in the long run pays off big time.
      My ROI's from sng's are also quite profitable. Now, I realize this must be a real upswing off course, but nevertheless it's still something I'm very proud off. I know, I'm bragging :D