Termi8r's PokerStar(s) road

• Termi8r
      Termi8r
      Bronze
      A lot of poker players start out playing poker in the hopes of making nice extra income or even to do it as a full-time job. They start out playing micro limits without a real plan and are soon met with frustration, concluding that poker is nothing different from slot machine gambling. Some people join PokerStrategy.com to get their $50 and follow the Short Stack Strategy (SSS). They get sucked out with AA, don't follow the strategy 100% and go on tilt, ignore bankroll management and soon their poker accounts are bankrupt.

My goal with this project is to show the progress of an inexperienced Average Joe poker player when applying the principles of PokerStrategy.com. I will comment on the problems I have while playing poker such as tilt, patience and learning to accept variance. I started playing poker in October 2007 and was more or less a break even/losing player on micro limits on local South African poker sites.
      I heard of PokerStrategy.com from a friend and joined in February this year. I thought that I knew a bit about poker but discovered that I was a total fish. So armed with my $50 I joined Mansion and started with NL10 SSS and went as far as NL50. I decided to move to PokerStars because there are more players and the software is much, much faster. So I deposited $50 at PokerStars and built that up playing SSS. I transferred the money I had left on Mansion (after vertical downswing freefall) to PokerStars as well and this is where my story begins:

Current bankroll: $400

Goals:

Learn how to make correct decisions and not be influenced too strongly by the outcome
      Build bankroll and move up the limits by applying conservative bankroll management
      Have fun while playing poker

Strategy:

I will focus mainly on SSS applying a 50 buy-in rule
      Later I will start with Big Stack Strategy (BSS) full ring NL10 at $500