dating as a pro

• DennisVT1980RNMD
      DennisVT1980RNMD
      Bronze
      Hi guys!

My question is mainly for those who play poker professionally, but any other insights are welcome of course.:)

Do you guys find this job a problem when it comes to dating? When a girl/woman asks what you do for a living, do you tell them straight up? What kind of replys do you usually get?
      How do you handle these situations?

If any of you guys have a long(er) term relationship, what are your girlfriends opinion on this?
      I'm 35.
      Thanks.
  • 10 replies
    • clawindsouza
      clawindsouza
      Bronze
      Whats wrong with being a professional poker player?

I think the problem might be internal for you. How do you feel about being a poker player? I'm sure if you're confident about being a poker pro then I think a lot more ladies will be after you ;)
    • Marta
      Marta
      Headadmin
      Headadmin
      Hey!

I would say that the reaction to "I'm a professional poker player" depends on the girl - how open-minded she is, is she more of the adventurous type or not, what needs she has at the particular moment (stability, kids, etc.). If she is future-oriented, in a way that she wants a predictable, stable situation - hearing that someone plays poker for a living (often hearing: gambling for a living) might be a no go. If, on the other hand, the girl is younger or takes things rather easy - poker career is likely to be perceived as cool.

It also depends on how much she knows about poker - I'd presume that most girls out there are not very familiar with the topic. The more she knows, the better the chance that she will be okay with dating a poker player. :)
    • gadget51
      gadget51
      Bronze
      On the other hand, what if the professional player is a lady? This would be a much more difficult situation I should think, especially in some cultures perhaps not as liberal as we might hope for.