Discussion Thread: The Basics

• 57 replies
    • jdm159
      jdm159
      Bronze
      I am new to poker. Why is the button the in position when the big blind is the last person to act?
    • lkdr9494
      lkdr9494
      Bronze
      The big blind is the last person to act ONLY pre-flop.
      The rest of the hand the button is the last person to act (on the flop-turn and river).
    • PipiRedstar
      PipiRedstar
      Bronze
      QUESTION 8 in Quiz on the lesson "Odds & Outs":

How often do you have to hit to be able to call profitably, when the pot odds are 4 to 1?

Correct answer - Every fifth time. (1 Points)

My question – If pot odds are 4 to 1, our odds have to be 3 to 1 to make a profitable call. That means that we have to hit every fourth time to call profitably.

Thus the correct answer should be – every fourth time.

Is this a mistake?
    • dzeminis
      dzeminis
      Bronze
      Hi all.

Im reading article: The Basics (4): Why do you bet? and im confused with all this now. Could someone explain to me part: The Three Types Of Bets In Practice first example?
      How do you know what combos to count? because its marked only few of them but i see that more combos would have biger chance to win... Like AA as pocket pair. Am i right? I think dis article need to be more detailed for dummies like me hahaha
    • ChoChikun
      ChoChikun
      Bronze
      Originally posted by PipiRedstar
      QUESTION 8 in Quiz on the lesson "Odds & Outs":

How often do you have to hit to be able to call profitably, when the pot odds are 4 to 1?

Correct answer - Every fifth time. (1 Points)

My question – If pot odds are 4 to 1, our odds have to be 3 to 1 to make a profitable call. That means that we have to hit every fourth time to call profitably.

Thus the correct answer should be – every fourth time.

Is this a mistake?
      Pot odds are 4:1. Question is how often you have to hit/win to make profit.